V: Vujicic’s Inspiring Life

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

V: VUJICIC, NICK

Nicholas “Nick” Vujicic, was born December 4, 1982, just a few years before I was blessed with my own sons. Nick’s birth was very different than what I experienced. He had a rare disorder, Phocomelia, which is characterized by the absence of legs and arms.

While other children learned to toddle around the house, Nick lacked the arms and legs to do so. As if that wasn’t enough to deal with, children can be cruel. He was bullied and struggled with depression during his early childhood. But yet…that didn’t stop him or slow him down.

Vujicic overcame the challenges of his disability. At Runcorn State High School, in Queensland, he was elected vice caption and worked with the student council on fundraising events for local charities and disability campaigns.

He later founded a non-profit organization, Life Without Limbs and founded a motivational speaking company, Attitude is Altitude. He spends his time presenting motivational speeches worldwide that focus on living with disabilities and finding hope and meaning in life. That is…when he’s not spending time with his wife and two children.

If he can accomplish all this…without any legs or arms…what’s our excuse?

You can find Nick Vujicic on Facebook.

I need to leave now. I need to go give myself an attitude adjustment. I’m overdue on expressing thankfulness for my limbs and mobility, and I’m drastically behind on sharing inspiration with others in my world. Thank you, Nick, for reminding me how blessed I am, and for making me realize how selfish and shallow I can sometimes be.

nick.png

This entry was posted in A to Z Blog Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

