J: Journaling for a Better Life

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

J: Journaling for a Better Life

“Our lives are full of hidden gems of knowledge and insight, and the most recent events in our lives contain the most useful gems of all.”

Life Hack says that journaling is the answer to finding the lessons that will improve our life. They give five reasons why we should journal.

  1. Journals help you have a better connection with your values, emotions, and goals
  2. Journals Improve mental clarity/help solve problems/improve overall focus
  3. Journals improve insight and understanding
  4. Journals track your overall development
  5. Journals facilitate personal growth

journal1

The Guardian has this to say about journaling:

“Once you start drawing, writing and gluing stuff in every day it can quickly become a habit – addictive, even. Your attitude should be: “I can do this, but I musn’t make it too intimidating.” It should all be easy to accomplish – here’s how.”

They start out advising that you time yourself.

A good technique to avoid giving up or getting bored is to give yourself 10 minutes maximum per day to make your mark.

Ideally, you’ll go to your journal every day, and that can feel repetitive, so tricks like this are great for making it feel more doable.

journal.jpg

For more tips about what to include in your journal, check out this excellent page by Jacqui Holzworth about How to Create a Journal Just for You.

For myself, I find I’m back and forth with journaling. I see a tremendous benefit when I do journal regularly. Bu then…life happens. I get busy. I don’t sit aside the time to sit, reflect, and write. Six months later I’ll pick up my journal again…at least for a week or two. And then I tend to slip back into only occasional entries.

I guess this is one of those ‘Do as I say and not as I do’ posts. What about you? Do you journal? Do you do it regularly? If not, is journaling something that you’ve thought about?

This entry was posted in A to Z Blog Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to J: Journaling for a Better Life

  1. This reminded me of a novel I read recently, Mr. White’s Confession. His memory was faulty so he journaled every day.
    I like #3 on your list best: 3.Journals improve insight and understanding

    Gail’s 2016 April A to Z Challenge
    Theme: The Fun in Writing #218

    Liked by 1 person

    • trishafaye says:

      Sounds like an interesting book. I’m going to check that out. Especially since my sister & I have been joking about getting older and how we’re starting to forget easier now. (And cringing a little because of the family history of dementia.)
      Have a great day!

      Like

  2. Thanks for this inspiring post! Keeping a journal on paper works for me as a wellspring of writing ideas, which come from a different place than when using a keyboard. I feel sorry for those who have not learned cursive at school, because handwriting is one of the pleasures of journaling. Visiting from A to Z Challenge.
    Molly of Molly’s Canopy
    http://mollyscanopy.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. cassmob says:

    I keep flirting with the idea of journaling because I think it will help me to focus on where my days go and the gifts they bring. I like the idea of setting a time limit.

    @cassmob from
    Family History Across The Seas

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

