A: Appreciation

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

In participation with the A to Z Blog Challenge for 2016, we’re posting inspiring and motivational posts this month, all in an A to Z theme. We’ll post every day during April, except Sunday’s – when we all get time off for good behavior.

I hope you enjoy these posts and they give you some good food for thought. Check out some of the awesome blogs that are participating in the A to Z Challenge this year. There’s over 1700 blogs participating in the challenge, so I’m sure you’ll find some treasures in there.

A: APPRECIATION

There are days when I walk through the center of Stockholm when I get this sudden feeling of happiness – a sense of belonging and at the same time gratitude that I’m so privileged that I can live my life in my city.
Bjorn Ulvaeus

Do we always appreciate the seemingly insignificant pieces of our lives? Do we appreciate where we live? Or are we too busy grumbling about our location?

Too busy. Too rural. Too hot. Too cold. Too much rain. Not enough rain. Too humid. Too dry. Too much traffic. Too many people. Not enough people.

I have to admit that even as I’ve been consciously looking for things that I am grateful for, my city and the life I live here has not made my gratitude list. I’m constantly looking for small overlooked things, such as – I’m thankful for the tasty, tuna sandwich I had for lunch today, or I’m thankful I had enough cash for the postage today. But, my city and the life I live here…hasn’t even been a blip on my radar.

Today I will be thankful for the small Texas town I live in. I will appreciate the privileges that I take for granted. I can get in my car and drive anywhere I want. I can go to the store at midnight. I can leave town whenever I want. I don’t have to check with anyone, or fill out forms, or be told it isn’t allowed. I can cross state lines and drive anywhere I choose. No curfews. No detentions. I can choose my occupation. I can choose where I live. I can choose where I shop. I can choose what groceries I want to buy. We have so many unlimited freedoms here in America. I’ve been remiss to appreciate them and include them on my gratitude list.

Affirmation: Today I choose to appreciate the privileges I enjoy in my city.

uplifting others

This entry was posted in A to Z Blog Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A: Appreciation

  1. kei says:

    It is quite true that we often tend to think the grass is greener on the other side, and that we might be happier if only we were somewhere else. But it is remiss not to look at the positive things about where we are right now, in terms of physical location. Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. randommusings29 says:

    Great piece. I believe true happiness can be found by appreciating the small stuff and being thankful for the good things rather than worrying about what you don’t have
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. calensariel says:

    I’m finding it interesting while doing the A to Z Road Trip to take a look at the first posts folks did. I really like the focus of your theme. Beautiful. I’m going to go see f I can find your Reflections post.
    Calen~
    Impromptu Promptlings

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

